Top Ten: Opening lines in a book

hobbit

10. THE HOBBIT- JRR.TOLKIEN

‘In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.’

9. CHARLOTTE’S WEB- E.B.WHITE

”Where’s Papa going with that axe?’ said Fern to her mother as they were setting the table for breakfast.’

8.SLAUGHTERHOUSE FIVE- KURT VONNEGUT

”All this happened, more or less.”

7. THE PHILOSOPHER’S STONE- J.K.ROWLING

”Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much. They were the last people you’d expect to be involved in anything strange or mysterious, because they just didn’t hold with such nonsense.”

6. THE BELL JAR- SYLVIA PLATH

“It was a queer, sultry summer, the summer they electrocuted the Rosenbergs, and I didn’t know what I was doing in New York.”

5. THE CATCHER IN THE RYE- J.D.SALINGER

“If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born, and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth.”

4. PETER PAN- J.M. BARRIE

”All children, except one, grow up.”

3. THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GRAY- OSCAR WILDE

”The studio was filled with the rich odour of roses, and when the light summer wind stirred amidst the trees of the garden, there came through the open door the heavy scent of the lilac, or the more delicate perfume of the pink-flowering thorn.”

2. LOLITA- VLADIMIR NABOKOV

”Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.”

1. PRIDE AND PREJUDICE- JANE AUSTEN

β€œIt is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

