Mslexia magazine

A little bit late but happy new year to all my followers! I hope that you all had a great time seeing in 2013 wherever you are in the world. I’m going to try and cook more, blog more, finish the Game of Thrones books and do some exercise as my new years resolutions- all of which are do-able I think apart from the last one!

Mslexia-Cover-issue-56

Anyway now that we’re in January it’s only a few weeks until I start my six month internship at Mslexia magazine in February. I’m so excited for this! It’s going to be my first internship in the publishing industry where I can get stuck in and see what it is like.  For any female writers out there I definitely recommend reading Mslexia- the magazine for women who write.

The magazine features information for both published and unpublished writers, contemporary and international writings, book reviews, insightful articles by expert writers, advice, critiques, master classes and the magazine’s blogger of the month, all of which is there to help and inspire your own writings, whether you are a novelist, playwright or poet. Mslexia also runs workshops, events and competitions for you to get involved in; for the winners it is also an opportunity to get your work published in the magazine itself.

This month’s issue [56] explores whether social media really affects book sales, how to survive as an independent journalist and also features an interview with Diana Athill, a writer who was known as the best editor in London and publisher of Jean Rhys’  famous Wide Sargasso Sea.

An absolute gem of a magazine, it’s a reliable, resourceful tool that I wished I had found a lot earlier in my own years of writing. Please have a look at the website and be inspired!

Mslexia magazine is published quarterly and you can subscribe here.

