So I’ve finished my degree..

I handed in my last ever essay this morning. It was about Eudora Welty, Flannery O’ Connor and the southern gothic. I still remember the first essay I did when I came here; it was Jekyll and Hyde and sounded absolutely terrible as all my words just sounded immature and a whole lot of waffle. Moving away and doing this degree has been without a doubt one of the most bravest and difficult things I have ever done, and I have so many memories from the experience that I will always remember. I decided to leave home and be on my own to find out who I really am and what exactly I want out of life. I think I can say that that I’ve done this and I’ve learned so many things along the way. Using a washing machine for a start, as embarrassing as that is to admit. My last shift at work is next Friday, and after that I’ll be waiting for my parents to pick me up with my stuff and move back home. I suppose that’s when the reality of finishing this chapter of my life will hit me- I’m nervous but so excited for what’s next! I have so many things to look forward to and I have a couple of  work placements lined up, one of them being Mslexia magazine which I’m really excited about.  This post isn’t meant to be elaborate, or clever or what have you. It’s just that this is the day where I say goodbye to a huge part of my life and move onto the next one. I want to remember how I felt on the day I finished this degree- happy, relieved and nervous, although I can honestly say that I feel as though I’ve climbed to the top of a mountain.

